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Frequently Asked Questions:!

!
1. Q:  How can I submit the gross earnings for 

2015 if my Accountant hasn't closed out the 
year yet?  Are there options?!

A:  Information from your sales journal or any 
type of report showing gross earnings from 
January 1 to December 31, 2015 may be used.!

2. Q:  Which year’s tax records do I submit?!

A:  The 2015 tax records if available before 
Jan. 31, 2016.  If tax records are not available, 
please refer to the Required Documents 
section of this pamphlet.!

3. Q:  Can the payment be postmarked by the 
date shown on the renewal or does it need 
to be received by the final due date?!

A:  The renewal payment shall be postmarked 
by the due date.!

4. Q:  Do I enter the gross or the net income 
earned on line “A”?!

A:  Always enter the gross earnings.!

5. Q:  What happens if I don’t provide required 
documentation?!

A:  Your business license certificate will be put 
on hold until you provide such documentation.!

6. Q:  I am an out of city contractor and do not 
have a current job in your city. Do I still 
need to pay the license renewal fee?!

A:  No.  This fee would only be paid if you have 
a job(s) in the city.  If you are continuing a job 
from 2015, you would then just pay the $50 
base fee and $1 SB-1186 fee.!

7. Q: Why do I have to pay Fire and Storm 
fees?!

A:  These fees are regulated and/or mandated 
by Federal or State agencies, or by the City 
Municipal Code.!

8. Q:  Why do I have to pay the $1 SB-1186 State 
Disability Access Fee?!

A:  On September 19, 2012 Governor Brown signed 
into law SB-1186 which adds a state fee of $1 on 
any applicant for a local business license or similar 
instrument or permit, or renewal thereof. The 
purpose is to increase disability access and 
compliance with construction-related accessibility 
requirements and to develop educational resources 
for businesses in order to facilitate compliance with 
federal and state disability laws, as specified.!

“Under federal and state law, compliance with 
disability access laws is a serious and significant 
responsibility that applies to all California building 
owners and tenants with buildings open to the 
public. You may obtain information about your legal 
obligations and how to comply with disability access 
laws at the following agencies:!

T h e D i v i s i o n o f t h e S t a t e A r c h i t e c t a t 
www.dgs.ca.gov/dsa/Home.aspx. 

T h e D e p a r t m e n t o f R e h a b i l i t a t i o n a t 
www.rehab.cahwnet.gov. 

The California Commission on Disability Access at 
www.ccda.ca.gov.”  

9. Q: How long will it take to receive my 
certificate?!

A:  You should receive your certificate within 3 
weeks. !

10. Q: If the business changed ownership or 
location can I just cross off the old information 
and put my new information on the renewal 
form?!

A:  No.  A new application is required. !

For more information, please visit our website at !

www.ci.ontario.ca.us 
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Thank you for choosing Ontario for your business

Important License Renewal 
Requirements!

!
Renewing your business license in Ontario 
is a simple process and City staff is ready 
to assist. The information in this pamphlet 
explains the necessary steps.!

To process your business license renewal 
and to verify the accuracy of the business 
license tax due, the City is requiring that 
certain businesses submit documentation 
supporting the reported 2015 gross 
receipts.!

This applies only to those businesses 
whose tax amount is based on gross 
rece ip ts , i nc lud ing admin i s t ra t i ve 
headquarters where gross receipts are 
defined by annual fair rental value, payroll 
and cost of all utilities related to the 
operation. 

Required Documents!
!
Please submit a copy of one of the following 
documents with your business license renewal 
form as supporting documentation for 2015 
Gross receipts: !

• Company documentation supporting the 
reported gross receipts:!

• financial statements (income statement)!

• rent roll!

• work papers!

• supporting schedules !

!
• Federal Tax Return such as:!

• Sole Proprietorship:   Form 1040 - 
Schedule C or Schedule E!

• Partnership:   Form 1065-Page 1!

• Corporation:   Form 1120-Page 1!

!
• California Sales Tax returns for the past four 

quarters (if applicable)!

!
Please be advised that City Hall will be 
closed from December 24, 2015 through 
January 2, 2016.

An Alternate Approach!

!
As an alternative to mail ing the 
documents, you may present the 
supporting documentation and renewal 
form in person for immediate review at 
City Hall.!

!
The required documentation will only be 
used for the purpose of computing and 
verifying the accuracy of the business 
license tax.  Pursuant to Section 3-1.122 
(c) of the Ontario Municipal Code, the 
above requested information will be kept 
confidential and shall not be subject to 
public inspection.


