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On Halloween, and Every Day, Buzzed Driving Is Drunk Driving 

Ontario Police Department Reminds Halloween Partiers  

Against Drinking and Driving! 

 
ONTARIO, CA— This Halloween, Ontario Police Department is reminding Halloween partiers that 
Buzzed Driving Is Drunk Driving. If your Halloween party involves alcohol then you have to make a plan 
to get home without getting behind the wheel. 
 
“If you want to stay safe this Halloween then make a plan to get home without driving if you’ve been 
drinking,” said Lieutenant John Duffield with Ontario PD. “Even one drink impairs judgment, so plan to 
get home by taxi, ride share, mass transit, or designate a sober drive. Buzzed driving is drunk driving, so 
think ahead to stay safe.” 
 
Ontario PD is deploying extra DUI officers Halloween night to supplement routine patrol officers on one 
of the most deadly nights of the years.  Officers will be looking for the tell-tale signs of alcohol and or 
drug impairment during each enforcement contact all weekend long, as many will be attending parties 
where alcohol is served.  
 
According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), 43 percent of all people 
killed in motor vehicle crashes on Halloween night (6 p.m. October 31st – 5:59 a.m. November 1st) from 
2009 to 2013 were in crashes involving a drunk driver. On Halloween night alone 119 people lost their 
lives over that same period. Children out trick-or-treating and the parents accompanying them are also at 
risk, as 19 percent of fatal pedestrian crashes on Halloween night (2009-2013) involved drunk drivers. 
 
It is illegal everywhere in America to drive with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 or higher. In 
2013, 10,076 people were killed in drunk driving crashes with 867 of those in California alone, along with 
23,000 others seriously injured. Even if you drive drunk and aren’t killed or seriously injured you could 
end up paying as much $10,000 for a DUI. 
 
Recent statistics reveal that 30 percent of drivers in fatal crashes had one or more drugs in their systems.  
A study of active drivers showed more tested positive for drugs that may impair driving (14 percent) than 
did for alcohol (7.3 percent).  Of the drugs, marijuana was most prevalent at 7.4 percent, slightly more 



than alcohol. Everyone should be mindful that if you’re taking medication – whether prescription or over-
the-counter – drinking even small amounts of alcohol can greatly intensify the impairment affects.   
 
Law Enforcement emphasizes the preventable nature of drunk driving, reminding everyone that all it 
takes is a little planning ahead. Designate a sober driver or call a cab. But whatever you do, don’t drink 
and drive. The California Office of Traffic Safety DDVIP (Designated Driver VIP) mobile app. is now 
available for free download on iOS and Android devices. Launched last year, the new DDVIP app offers 
enhanced features, allowing users to “Map a Spot” with their current location to find DDVIP partnering 
establishments in their area or a “List of Spots” to search all participating bars and restaurants throughout 
California. Users will be offered free incentives at each bar to celebrate their life saving role.  They can 
stay up-to-date with the latest from DDVIP and see what other users are saying via its social tab. Also 
through the app, for those who want to imbibe but also make it a point to plan ahead, users can easily 
order a sober ride from Uber, Lyft or Curb – all from one screen.   
 
Buzzed Driving Is Drunk Driving, so follow these simple tips to stay safe: 
 
• Plan a safe way to get home before you attend the party. Alcohol impairs judgment, as well as 
reaction time. If you’re drunk you’re more likely to choose to drive drunk. 
 
• Designate a sober driver, take public transportation, a car service, or a call a sober friend or family 
member to get home. 
 
• Walking while impaired can be just as dangerous as drunk driving. Designate a sober friend to 
walk you home. 
 
• Report Drunk Drivers – Call 911. 
 
• If you see someone you think is about to drive while impaired, take their keys and help them get 
home safely. 
 
Ontario PD along with other agencies from around the county and region will be conducting enforcement 
operations as part of the County’s DUI taskforce.  Funding for these special operations are provided by a 
grant from the California Office of Traffic Safety, through the National Highway Traffic Safety 
Administration. 
 
  
 

 

 

 
 


