Ontario, Calif. – During Child Passenger Safety Week, the Ontario Police Department will help parents and caregivers with installing child safety seats.
“We are here to offer parents and caregivers guidance and reassurances that their child is as safe in a car seat as possible while riding in the car,” Ontario Police Chief Mike Lorenz said.
According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), nearly half of car seats (46%) are misused.
California law requires all children under 2 years old to ride in a rear-facing car seat, unless the child is 40 or more pounds or is 40 or more inches tall. Parents are encouraged to keep your child in rear- and forward-facing seats as long as possible. Children 8 and older, who are at least 4 feet, 9 inches in height, may ride in the back seat of a vehicle in a properly fitted safety belt.
To learn more about the Ontario Police Department car seat program, contact Officer Eliseo Guerrero at firstname.lastname@example.org or 909-408-1739.
To search for car seat programs in your county, visit the OTS website. You may also contact your local CHP Area Office to schedule a free child safety seat inspection.
Funding for this program is provided by a grant from the California